The following works are shortlisted for the ANA awards 2011. The eventual winners will be announced at the Awards Dinner of the 30th International Annual Convention of the ANA in Abuja.

Adult Category

1. ANA/NDDC Flora Nwapa Prize for Women Writing (100,000 naira)
Heart Trick by Joan Oji
Our Wife Forever by Julie Okoh
Twilight at Terracotta Indigo by Umari Anyim

2. ANA/Jacaranda Prize for Prose (50,000 naira)
Sieged by Adamu Kyuta Usman
The Two Sparrows by Ida Offor

3. ANA/Chevron Prize for Environmental Issues ($2000)
Only one merit being shortlisted. It will be announced at the Convention.

4. ANA/NDDC Ken Saro Wiwa Prize for Prose (100,000 naira)
Roses and Bullets by Akachi Ezeigbo
The Secret Lives of Baba Segi’s Wives by Lola Soneyin
Twilight at Terracotta Indigo by Usman Anyim

5. ANA/NDDC Gabriel Okara Prize for Poetry (100,000 naira)
No award made. Three entries that merit Honourable mention will be announced at the Convention.

6. ANA/James Ene Hemshaw Prize for Playwriting (150,000 naira)
Olubu by Isiaka Aliagan
The Scent of Crude Oil by Eni Umuko

7. ANA/NDDC J.P. Clark Prize for Drama (100,000)
A Haunting Part by Julie Okoh
Casket of Her Dreams by Isaac Attah Ogezi
Ogidi Mandate by Olu Obafemi

8. ANA/Cadbury Prize for Poetry ($2000)
Ode on Lagos & Other Portraits by Jeff Unaegbu
The Beauty I Have Seen by Tanure Ojaide
The Primus of Cupid by Abubakar Othman

9. ANA/Esiaba Irobi Prize for Playwriting (50,000 naira)
Only one merits being shortlisted. To be announced at the Convention.

Children’s Category

1. Fatima Akilu, Preye and the Sea of Plastic
2. Chinyere Obi-Obasi, The Great Fall
3. Lola Shoneyin, Mayowa and the Masquerade

ANA/Funtime Prize for Children’s Literature (Prose)
1. Nnenna Ihebom, The Lunar Princess
2. spencer Okoroafor, Jide Meets a Ghost
3. K. C. Suleiman, Akin’s Assignment

ANA/Lantern Books Prize for Children Fiction
1. Chinyere Obi-Obasi, Chijike
2. Nu U. Nu, Tension in Animal Kingdom
3. Ayo Kolapo, The Blind’s Daughter

ANA/Mazariyaja Prize
No shortlist because of insufficient entries.

Hyacinth Obunseh
General Secretary,
Association of Nigerian Authors (ANA).