Sleeping Awake

Sleeping Awake

Sleeping Awake

Sometimes I scorch you
Like a naked Niger Sun
Your skin of love burning
With the madness of mid-day heat

I know sometimes I drench you
Like Benin rain at midnight
Your red-clayed heart is flooded

But before you switch-off that light And steal another kiss in bed tonight
Have you ever taken a moment to wonder
If sometimes it’s the tears you bring to my eyes
That evaporate to flood our love?

A broad back
Cutting off the silvery beams of moonlight across the blinds
Is all I see
All night
Till the alarm cries out at five
Louder than these sobbing eyes

(c) Senator Ihenyen, Stranger in the Mirror of My Life & Other Pieces

2 thoughts on “Sleeping Awake

Thanks for visiting my blog! You can be sure I'll get back to you in no time. You're always welcome around here! Senator Ihenyen Author

