Abiola’s Cry: (for June 12 from Colourless Rainbow)

This poem was written sometime in June, 2004 and first published in my collection of poetry, Colourless Rainbow, Coast2Coast, 2011. Rather than scrabbling a fresher poem on the occasion of June 12, I felt posting this older one would better portray where we are coming from, where we are now and where we appear to be headed.

I hope you’ll have a good read! Share and

comments please!

Abiola’s Cry

I know your faces, splashed by threads of light

against the shadowy

Walls of death! Those dark eyes staring at the

spirit

of a struggling soul, held behind bars of

brutality!

And do I not know your footsteps?

Those brutal boots that crunch aloud along the

corridors of death!

Take my soul! Take my soul! Feed my flesh to

the vultures!

Paint the rainbow with the colours of my blood!

Better for me to die like this than bow to your

democratic subtleties!

This spirit shall blaze in your darkened dawn

like the fire of the sun. This voice shall be the

cockcrow

Of your voiceless dawn. These splashing tears

shall wash

away the stains still dripping from our

wounded innocence.

Listen! Listen to the throb of my pulse

As it dances to the beats of a true dawn

Not born by tyranny. Not baptised with

brutality.

Democaracy, not crucified by truth!

Thanks for visiting my blog! You can be sure I'll get back to you in no time. You're always welcome around here! Senator Ihenyen Author

