River of Voices (for Chinua Achebe)

This poem, River of Voices, was written sometime in 2005. Published in my collection of poetry, Colourless Rainbow, I wish to dedicate it to the Father of modern African literature, Late Chinua Achebe, who to my delight, was also a poet himself.

I have specially dedicated this poem to him because having died unfulfilled as a Nigerian citizen, the eventual disillusion expressed in River of Voices seem to portray the picture of that feeling of unfulfillment on his part.

I hope you will find it engaging!

RIVER OF VOICES

I saw
the rays of the sun
beaming,
as I watched
by the riverside.

I saw
the drops of rain
splashing,
as I watched
by the riverside,

and I saw
the rays of the sun
kissing the raindrops,
as I watched
by the riverside.

I saw
colours of the rainbow
in the sky
rising,
as I watched
by the riverside.

But I saw no reflection
of these colours on the rippling river –
as I wondered
by the riverside

Throwing a probing stone,
I see ripples –
ripples of voices rising on the river –
Clamouring,
troubled tides rushing to my feet,
as I waited
by the riverside –

disillusioned.

(“River of Voices“ selected from Colourless Rainbow, Coast2Coast, Lagos, p. 104)

One thought on “River of Voices (for Chinua Achebe)

  1. Pingback: LOVE CYCLE (A Poem) by Chinua Achebe | Su'eddie in Life n Literature

Thanks for visiting my blog! You can be sure I'll get back to you in no time. You're always welcome around here! Senator Ihenyen Author

