Ode to Senator Ihenyen by Emeke Nwaoboli

This is a poem titled “Ode to Senator Ihenyen“. Written by Emeke Nwaoboli, a young and budding Nigerian writer and friend, he was moved to appreciate my “kind gestures“ towards his writing craft with a poem. He also happens to be an active member of Golden Minds Nigeria, the youth development organisation in which I currently serve as Project Manager.

Since today is World Poetry Day, I believe there is no better time to publish this piece!

Thanks, Emeke Nwaoboli. I‘m most flattered. Very grateful for this kind effort!

Emeke Nwaoboli‘s blog: http://www.emekenwaoboli.wordpress.com

Ode to Senator Ihenyen

My hands are itching,
Itching to write about great men.
Great men like Senator Ihenyen,
The new Nigerian poet and writer,
Author of Colourless Rainbow;
The emerging voice in new Nigerian poetry.
Fighting against AIDS with his poems,
Standing like a Defender against the swooping swords of oppression.
An advocate in his wig and gown,
The voiceless has found his voice.
Even his smile can mend broken hearts,
The ink of his pen splash songs of freedom.
I am proud to announce his name,
I rejoice
For he has inspired me.
My ink will continue to paint his glory,
On every soul that is downtrodden.
Remain the great Senator!
With the paintbrush of your imaginations,
Make the colourless rainbow colourful.

(c)Emeke Nwaoboli 2013

Thanks for visiting my blog! You can be sure I'll get back to you in no time. You're always welcome around here! Senator Ihenyen Author

