Between September 11 and September 1

(Today, September 1, 2010, U.S. soldiers finally begin to leave Iraq. Obama makes good his promise)

September 11…

that tragic turn

that changed the world

the terror that struck the Pentagon

and the ripples of fear that spread across our heart

when man and beast stood side by side

and no one could tell who was man

and no one could tell who was beast.

September 1…

with the bloody bullets from our gathering guns

with the merciless missiles from our American armoury

man went to war with the beast.

When the last gunshots were heard after years of yearning

one left the land of the other

leaving behind blood and tears

shrouds of hate and love, flags of
hope and despair

and no one could tell who was man

and no one could tell who was beast

(c)senatorihenyen2010

2 thoughts on “Between September 11 and September 1

  1. Nwodo Nnamdi,

    I find your words profoundly encouraging! It’s from such that toddlers gather feathers to weave wings for further flights! And I’m most appreciate because they are words from my Catholic brother, a CALSAN!

    I wrote the poem published in the Beacon specially for Odinaka Nancy Ezema, who served CLASA UNIBEN as Assist. Sec and Secretary when i was Chapter President for two terms. It was the occasion of her birthday, and my poem was perhaps an icing on her cake!
    As indelible as colours imprinted on a butterfly’s wings, I will remember these words. Again, thanks for the comment, and I hope you will find some time to visit my blog often as I update periodically! Nwodo Nnamdi,

    I find your words profoundly encouraging! It’s from such that toddlers gather feathers to weave wings for further flights! And I’m most appreciate because they are words from my Catholic brother, a CALSAN!

    I wrote the poem published in the Beacon specially for Odinaka Nancy Ezema, who served CLASA UNIBEN as Assist. Sec and Secretary when i was Chapter President for two terms. It was the occasion of her birthday, and my poem was perhaps an icing on her cake!
    As indelible as colours imprinted on a butterfly’s wings, I will remember these words. Again, thanks for the comment, and I hope you will find some time to visit my blog often as I update periodically!

  2. Hi Senator,i saw your poem titled “Our Life Time Cake”,published in CALSA Magazine “The Beacon”(2nd ed.).Underneath the title of the poem(supra)was your name and website.I curiously decided to visit your site,and i must say i like what i see! I’d like to encourage you to keep up what you doing-it’s noble indeed.
    I pray God to strenghthen you.Am happy that you have realised that which you have a flair for-poetry,it does pay to do what gives one joy.For in doing so,a person achieves things he/she thought could never be achieved.The Soyinkas,the Achebes et al started like this;great things start small,and not the other way round.Once again Senator(interesting name,i’d say),keep doing what you’re doing,you’ll reap the dividend of your diligence sooner than later.Finally,Mr.Ihenyen,i leave you with the memorable words of Myles Munroe:”You are capable of much more than you are presently thinking.”,you can do even more!Good luck….
    Nwodo Gabriel Nnamdi
    Fac.of Law,ESUT,Enugu state.erneath the title of the poem(supra)was your name and website.I curiously decided to visit your site,and i must say i like what i see! I’d like to encourage you to keep up what you doing-it’s noble indeed.
    I pray God to strenghthen you.Am happy that you have realised that which you have a flair for-poetry,it does pay to do what gives one joy.For in doing so,a person achieves things he/she thought could never be achieved.The Soyinkas,the Achebes et al started like this;great things start small,and not the other way round.Once again Senator(interesting name,i’d say),keep doing what you’re doing,you’ll reap the dividend of your diligence sooner than later.Finally,Mr.Ihenyen,i leave you with the memorable words of Myles Munroe:”You are capable of much more than you are presently thinking.”,you can do even more!Good luck….
    Nwodo Gabriel Nnamdi
    Fac.of Law,ESUT,Enugu state.

Thanks for visiting my blog! You can be sure I'll get back to you in no time. You're always welcome around here! Senator Ihenyen Author

