At First Sight (to Tes)

I never belived in love at first sight
But when I set my eyes on her from the one-storey height
I dashed down the stairs to know if I’d been right
But she had walked far down the red-clayed street,
And I felt my heart boil with some heat,
As I wandered and wondered if again we would meet.

A moment later she was walking pass again,
And I was glad my waiting was not in vain
As I’d felt my heart all day hanging on in pain.
She was on the phone as I gently walked beside her in patience,
A faint smile in my eyes in the sunny ambience,
‘You’re stupid’, said she as I shrank with sudden inconvenience.

‘Me?’ I asked calmly as I smiled and watched in disbelief,
‘Sorry, not you’, she replied as smiles rose on her flowery face giving me relief,
And quickly stole a closer look at her gleaming eyes like a daylight thief.

Moments later, too glad to know she didn’t mean pimple,
She told me her name and how much she loved my dimple,
Dazed, I told her it was the same with her low-cut hair as Tessy gave me a sweet soft chuckle.
It felt like we had known each other for long,
Waking inside me a strange fondness so strong,
And I heard my heartbeat gurgling like a gong.

She told me she would see me again that evening,
And I took her word without doubting,
Because I could see it in her eyes by just listening.
The study clock ticked towards 9:00 that night,
And I felt the wingless angel from space had gone in flight,
But her eyes were on my mind though out of sight.

I struck the match-stick against the match-box at last,
The candlelight revealed the red-inked case names I must cram fast,
If this coming exam I must face and blast.
One quiet knock at the door kept me wondering,
What my hostel mate, Charles, wanted that evening,
When I saw in front of me that eyes again glittering!

‘What-a-surprise! I-I-didn’t know u were still coming down’,
‘I promised I was going to come’, replied she, with those eyes making me love-drown,
As I asked her to come in like a visiting crown.
When after a fleeting hour of friendship that felt real and right,
At 9:38, I softly kissed her forehead goodnight,
As she took my heart away with her that night.

Day and night I craved and longed for her awake or asleep,
As I breathe without a heart inside my rips so deep,
Until thirty-seven days later, she gave her heart to me to keep.

(c)Senator Ihenyen 2010

Thanks for visiting my blog! You can be sure I'll get back to you in no time. You're always welcome around here! Senator Ihenyen Author

